IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter
Franchisor Intelligence / Compare / Territory size

What does a standard territory actually hold?

A standard territory holds from 9,000 to 50,000 residents aged 65 and over; the typical one holds 25,000.

17 of 23 systems disclose this.

Where each of the 17 systems that disclose it sits

Each dot is a system. The rule is the middle value.

Across the 17 systems that disclose it
Nurse Next Door: about 9,000Home Instead: 10,000BrightStar Care: at least 15,000Right at Home: at least 15,000SYNERGY HomeCare: about 20,000Assisting Hands Home Care: at least 25,000ComForCare: 25,000–35,000FirstLight Home Care: about 25,000Griswold: 25,000Senior Helpers: 25,000–35,000CareBuilders at Home: 30,000–40,000HomeCare Advocacy Network: 30,000–50,000HomeWell Care Services: 30,000–40,000Amada Senior Care: 32,000–42,000Homewatch CareGivers: 38,000–40,000A Place At Home: about 40,000One You Love Homecare: about 50,000
Source: 2026 filings, read from each system's own disclosure documentHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs

One You Love Homecare gives an owner a territory of about 50,000 residents aged 65 and over — more than any other system here

Sorted highest to lowest. Hatched rows are filings that say nothing.

Source: 2026 filings, read from each system's own disclosure documentHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method

17 of 23 systems disclose this. Figures are read from each system’s own 2026 franchise disclosure document. How this data is built

How many people the filing says a standard territory holds, on the basis that filing uses.

›How to read it

Territory size — How many people the filing says a standard territory holds, on the basis that filing uses.

Higher means more people in the patch an owner is given. Lower means a tighter patch, which may be denser.

Territories sized on everyone and territories sized on seniors are different measures and are never ranked together.

Every system on this measure

Sort any column. A blank means the filing does not disclose it, never zero.

Territory size for every home care franchise system, from 2026 franchise disclosure documents
SystemTerritory size
A Place At Homeabout 40,000Residents aged 65 and over50Emerging
Amada Senior Care32,000–42,000Residents aged 65 and over261Scaling
Assisting Hands Home Careat least 25,000Residents aged 65 and over232Scaling
BrightStar Careat least 15,000Residents aged 65 and over396Scaling
CareBuilders at Home30,000–40,000Residents aged 65 and over28Early
ComForCare25,000–35,000Residents aged 65 and over271Scaling
Comfort KeepersNot disclosed in the 2026 FDD—619Scaling
Executive Home Careat least 300,000Everyone in the patch79Emerging
FirstLight Home Careabout 25,000Residents aged 65 and over238Scaling
Griswold25,000Residents aged 65 and over198Scaling
Hallmark Homecareup to 250,000Everyone in the patch59Emerging
Home Instead10,000Residents aged 65 and over626Mature
Home Matters Caregivingabout 200,000Everyone in the patch31Emerging
HomeCare Advocacy Network30,000–50,000Residents aged 65 and over7Early
Homewatch CareGivers38,000–40,000Residents aged 65 and over260Scaling
HomeWell Care Services30,000–40,000Residents aged 65 and over201Scaling
Nurse Next Doorabout 9,000Residents aged 65 and over71Emerging
One You Love Homecareabout 50,000Residents aged 65 and over24Early
Right at Homeat least 15,000Residents aged 65 and over566Scaling
Senior Helpers25,000–35,000Residents aged 65 and over394Scaling
Seniors Helping Seniors250,000Everyone in the patch224Scaling
SYNERGY HomeCareabout 20,000Residents aged 65 and over626Scaling
Visiting Angels200,000Everyone in the patch541Mature

HomecareHQ analysis of 23 home care franchise systems’ 2026 disclosure documents. Listed alphabetically until you sort it.

Measured differently, so shown on their own

5 systems size their territories on total population rather than residents aged 65 and over. That is a different measurement, not a smaller one, so they are shown on their own and never ranked against the rest.

  • Executive Home Careat least 300,000This system sizes territories on the whole population, not on residents 65 and over, so it is shown on its own.
  • Hallmark Homecareup to 250,000This system sizes territories on the whole population, not on residents 65 and over, so it is shown on its own.
  • Home Matters Caregivingabout 200,000This system sizes territories on the whole population, not on residents 65 and over, so it is shown on its own.
  • Seniors Helping Seniors250,000This system sizes territories on the whole population, not on residents 65 and over, so it is shown on its own.
  • Visiting Angels200,000This system sizes territories on the whole population, not on residents 65 and over, so it is shown on its own.
1 of 23 filings does not disclose this

Not disclosed by Comfort Keepers. A blank in the table means the filing is silent. It is never a zero.

What to ask next

How to read this data

  • These are each system's own disclosures, not our opinion of them. Every number on this page comes out of a filing the system published itself. Where we calculate something — an effective royalty, a fee load, a growth rate — we show the inputs and the formula alongside it.
  • A blank means the filing did not say, never zero. Systems disclose different things, so most measures are filed by some of the field and not all of it. Where a figure rests on part of the field, we say how much of it.
  • Nothing here is a ranking. Most of these measures have no better direction: a lower royalty is not automatically a better system, and a bigger territory is not automatically a better deal. We show where a system sits and leave the judgement to you.
The Operator Signal
The filings move once a year. The read on them doesn't have to.

One email a month on what the newest franchise filings actually say.

Get the monthly read